Google Nexus 7 2013 – Specs, Features, Pros, Cons and everything you need to know (Detailed Review)

Heidi Speare December 27, 2013 1

[adsads2resp]?

Today we bring to you the details of one of the best small Android tablets available in the market today. The tablet we will be checking out today is the new Google Nexus 7 2013, the one that was recently unveiled by Google and is now available for purchase in the market.

The Google Nexus 7 2013 is the successor to the original model of the tablet, the Google Nexus 7 2012. The fact is that both these tablets are still available for purchase in the market and the price difference between the two might be one of the important factors for many consumers. So at some stages of the review, we will be comparing the Google Nexus 7 2013 to the Google Nexus 7 2012 model. We are doing this so that you get and idea about the differences between the two and do not have to go searching for the Nexus 7 2012 just for the sake of comparison.

We all learn from our mistakes and improve, but if we haven’t really made any mistakes we just improve. This seems to be the case with Google and its Nexus 7 series of tablets. Last year, Google unveiled the Nexus 7 tablet that became a hit in the market. Google did a really good job with the original Nexus 7 and tried to provide the best possible configuration for an unbeatable price. But this year, the company has come up with an even better model and has managed to maintain the same price range.

nexus 7

GOOGLE NEXUS 7 2013
Google Nexus 7 2013 is the new Android flagship tablet from Google and also the successor to the popular Google Nexus 7 2012. The 2012 version of Google Nexus 7 made quite a name for itself in the consumer market and its now time for the next-gen Nexus 7 2013 to take over.

For the year 2013, Google has come up with a brand new version of Nexus 7 that has been dubbed as Google Nexus 7 2013. And just in case you haven’t checked out this new tablet yet, we want you to know that you are definitely going to love it! And if you happen to be a Google Nexus 7 2012 consumer, you will definitely love the change and improvements that have been made to the new model.

The Google Nexus 7 2013 is a slim and lightweight tablet packed with power, performance and an extremely good battery backup. The 7-inch screen gives you the tablet experience you are looking for but still manages to be ultra portable. The Google Nexus 7 2013 is even lighter than the iPad Mini and almost equal when it comes to thickness. It has a beautiful full HD IPS LCD touchscreen display, superfast chipset, high performance camera, long lasting battery and a form factor that will make you fall in love with it.

The new Google Nexus 7 2013 tablet features dual stereo speakers and surround sound powered by Fraunhofer (the inventors of MP3). So if you get your hands on one of these tablets, you are in for a unique, rich and immersive audio experience. Google Nexus 7 2013 comes equipped with finely tuned volume boost technology that makes dialog and sound crisp and easier on the ears.

nexus 7 1

1. HARDWARE SPECS and FEATURES
The Google Nexus 7 is definitely a powerful tablet. It might not have the fastest processor available in the market, but the Qualcomm Snapdragon S4 Pro handles everything very well. You won’t have to worry about lags or performance issues whatsoever.

We had no problem whatsoever with any of the hardware parts present on the Google Nexus 7. But yes, we do wish that there were more options as far as internal storage is concerned. Not every consumer will be happy with 16 or 32 GB of storage space, that too without a microSD card support.

So check out the list of key specifications of the Google Nexus 7 tablet. There are hardly any differences between the Wi-Fi only model and the Wi-Fi + LTE model. So wherever required, we have mentioned such specs separately.

Google Nexus 7 2013 (Key specifications)
DISPLAY

  • 7-inch IPS LCD capacitive touchscreen display
  • 1920 x 1200 pixels screen resolution
  • 323 ppi pixel density
  • Scratch-resistant Corning glass

HARDWARE

  • Qualcomm Snapdragon S4 Pro chipset
  • 1.5 GHz quad-core processor
  • Adreno 320 GPU
  • 2 GB of RAM

STORAGE

  • 16 / 32 GB of internal storage (Wi-Fi only model)
  • 32 GB of internal storage (Wi-Fi + LTE model)
  • NO MicroSD card support

CAMERA

  • 5 MP primary camera with auto focus
  • 1.2 MP secondary camera with fixed focus

CONNECTIVITY
Common for both models

  • Dual-band Wi-Fi (2.4 GHz/5 GHz) 802.11 a/b/g/n
  • NFC (Android Beam)
  • Bluetooth 4.0

Only applicable to Wi-Fi + LTE model

  • LTE: 700/850/1700/1800/1900/2100 MHz
  • HSPA+: 850/900/1900/2100/AWS (1700/2100) MHz
  • GSM: 850/900/1800/1900 MHz

BATTERY

  • 3950 mAh non-removable battery
  • Up to 9 hours of active use
  • Wireless charging built-in (Qi compatible)

OS

  • Android 4.3 Jelly Bean
  • Upgradeable to Android 4.4 KitKat
  • Pure Android experience (bloatware free)

WEIGHT and DIMENSIONS

  • Weight: 290 grams (Wi-Fi only model)
  • Weight: 299 grams (Wi-Fi + LTE model)
  • Dimensions: 114 x 200 x 8.65 mm

2. ANDROID 4.4 KITKAT
Google Nexus 7 2013 runs on Android 4.3 Jelly Bean out of the box, at least that’s how the device was launched originally. But the good point is that consumers can update their Nexus 7 2013 tablets to the latest version of Android OS, Android 4.4 KitKat. The update is already available, so all you have to do is break open the box, start your device and get the updates!

As of now, Google has already rolled out two updates for the Nexus 7 2013, so the latest firmware update is Android 4.4.2 KitKat. So as a Nexus 7 2013 consumer, you can rest assured that you will immediately be able to upgrade your device to the most popular mobile operating system in the world – Android 4.4 KitKat. Another added advantage you get with the Nexus 7 2013 is that you will always be able to stay up-to-date as far as software updates are concerned, because you will be getting them directly from Google.

android kitkat

Even though we are talking about the 2013 edition of Google Nexus 7, we do not want to give you half the information. Because we know that there are a lot of consumers out there who are holding on to their Google Nexus 7 2012 tablets! As we already mentioned, the original Nexus 7 is also a beautiful tablet and we want our proud Nexus 7 2012 owners to know that the Android 4.4.2 KitKat firmware update is also available for your tablets!

3. GOOGLE APPS and PLAY STORE
Google Nexus 7 2013 is one of the very few smart devices that will allow you to experience the power and performance of pure Android! But at the same time, it is also one of the best devices to use all your favorite Google apps on.

So no matter what Google apps you use on a regular basis, you will be able to get the best experience. Chrome, Gmail, YouTube, Hangouts and Google Now – all your favorite apps will be available right when and where you want them! And since all these apps are designed for the cloud, everything is simple and works seamlessly across your phone, tablet and computer. So no matter where you are, you will always have all the stuff you need, where you need it and when you need it.

Apart from the abovementioned Google apps, there are a lot of other games and apps that you can check out on the Google Nexus 7 2013. The Google Play Store is filled with some of best games and apps that have ever made it to the mobile platform. You can choose between a variety of games like Angry Bird, Cut the Rope, Asphalt 8, Prince or Persia, Plants vs. Zombies and more, or you can start using some of the coolest and most productive apps on the planet like DropBox, Evernote, Flipboard, Skype, Expedia and more. The list can simply go on, but we all have our own choices and preferences, so enough with that.

But apps and games are not the only way to rock and roll on the Google Nexus 7 2013. You can simply spend your free time listening to your favorite songs, reading the eBooks that you love or can simply immerse yourself in thousands of movies and TV shows on Google Play.

4. IN THE BOX
So we have almost told you everything you need to know about the Google Nexus 7. We are sure that many of you must be impressed with this lightweight yet powerful tablet and must be planning to get one soon. As mentioned earlier in the post, there are two models of the Google Nexus 7 – Wi-Fi only and Wi-Fi + LTE.

So be sure to choose the one that suits your needs, and also remember that the Wi-Fi only model comes with 16 GB and 32 GB of internal storage whereas the Wi-Fi + LTE model comes only with 32 GB of internal storage space, there is no 16 GB option available. Similar to almost every other Google Nexus device, even the Nexus 7 tablet does not have support for a microSD card slot, so you need to be very careful with the storage space you have.

So if you are going to buy the Google Nexus 7 any time soon, we want you to already know what you are going to get in the box. There’s not much, but you don’t really need anything else apart from what has already been included.

  • Google Nexus 7 tablet
  • USB sync/charge cable
  • Dual-voltage USB wall charger
  • Quick start guide
  • Warranty/Safety Card
  • SIM ejection tool (for LTE model only)

5. PRICE TAGS
When you compare the Google Nexus 7 2013 tablet with many of the other tablets offered by reputed brands, the Nexus 7 definitely turns out to be cheaper. The Google Nexus 7 2013 is a premium level tablet that comes at a very good price tag, no matter which model you choose.

And if you have already made up your mind and are planning to get your hands on the new Google Nexus 7 tablet, then these base prices will help you out. These are the standard prices at which Google offers the different models of Nexus 7, so you can compare the best prices that you are being offered and come to a decision.

But to be fair enough, we have also listed out the price tags of the Google Nexus 7 2012 model. So if you want to know about the differences in the price tag, you will be able to do that right here. Hence you will able to make out the differences in price in this section and the differences in technical specifications and features will be clear in the conclusion part.

Google Nexus 7 2013 (Wi-Fi only model)

  • $229 – 16 GB model
  • $269 – 32 GB model

Google Nexus 7 2013 (Wi-Fi + LTE model)

  • $349 – 32 GB model

Google Nexus 7 2012 (Wi-Fi only model)

  • $199 – 16 GB model
  • $249 – 32 GB model

Google Nexus 7 2012 (Wi-Fi + LTE model)

  • $310 – 32 GB model

6. CONCLUSION
We hope we have covered almost everything you would want to know about the Google Nexus 7 2013. To cut it short, all you need to know is that the Google Nexus 7 2013 is a definite winner and you can’t go wrong with this purchase. It is a premium tablet available for a decent price tag and will help you with almost every activity you want to perform and will back you up with great speed.

And just in case if you are confused between the Google Nexus 7 2012 and the Google Nexus 7 2013 models, we are here to help you out. To make things easier for you, we have also provided a chart that helps you figure out the differences between the Nexus 7 2012 and Nexus 7 2013 models. So first let us take a look at the chart.

Once you take a good look at the chart, you will understand that Google has put in a lot of efforts in improving the Google Nexus 7 2013. The tablet has a number of improvements and changes that will make you spend that extra amount of money and opt for the newer version. We have already studied the chart (we made it) and have listed out some of the key reasons why the Google Nexus 7 2013 is definitely the better choice, even if it costs you some extra money.

  • Full HD display
  • Faster processor
  • Double amount of RAM
  • High performance primary camera
  • Secondary camera
  • Remarkably slim
  • Remarkably light in weight

Here is a specifications chart that shows us the technical details of the Google Nexus 7 2012 and Google Nexus 7 2013:

SC - Nexus 7 models

Recommended Products

 

One Comment »

  1. sc  December 29, 2013 at 8:07 am - Reply

    nice.. thanks
    can u compare nexus 7 and ipad mini?

Leave a Response»

css.php